Log Cabin Republicans Praise House of Representatives for Passage of Hate Crimes Legislation

30 Republicans Vote to Extend Protections to LGBT Americans

September 14, 2005 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Blogger Tumblr

(Washington, DC) – The Log Cabin Republicans praise the United States House of Representatives for passage of hate crimes legislation. "Today the United States House has courageously stood up for basic fairness for LGBT Americans," said Log Cabin Political Director Chris Barron. "This is a tremendous day for our entire LGBT community."

The Local Law Enforcement Enhancement Hate Crimes Prevention Act, more commonly known as hate crimes legislation, expands the definition of "hate crime" to include incidence of violence motivated by the actual or perceived race, color, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, or disability of the victim.

The bill, sponsored by John Conyers (D-MI), was proposed as an amendment to the Child Safety Protection Act, sponsored by Congressman Mark Foley (R-FL).

"Today, thanks to the courageous votes of 223 men and women, the United States House has sent a strong message that LGBT Americans are a valued part of our great country. They should be free to live their lives without fear of violence," continued Barron.

The vote in the House was a historic one, with 223 members voting for the legislation and 199 voting against it. Thirty Republicans joined one independent and 194 Democrats in supporting hate crimes legislation.

"We hope that the political courage that Republican House members showed today will be a sign to those in the party who seek to promote a divisive social agenda – your days are numbered. We have always known that history and common decency were on our side, and today's vote proves that," concluded Barron.

Log Cabin thanks the following Republican House members for their support in passing Hate Crimes legislation:

Charlie Bass (R-NH)
Judy Biggert (R-IL)
Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)
Mary Bono (R-CA)
Mike Castle (R-DE)
Charlie Dent (R-PA)
Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
Mike Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
Mark Foley (R-FL)
Jim Gerlach (R-PA)
Nancy Johnson (R-CT)
Sue Kelly (R-NY)
Mark Kirk (R-IL)
Jim Kolbe (R-AZ)
Ray LaHood (R-IL)
Jim Leach (R-IA)
Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
Thaddeus McCotter (R-MI)
Todd Platts (R-PA)
Dave Reichert (R-WA)
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
Jim Saxton (R-NJ)
Joe Schwarz (R-MI)
Chris Shays (R-CT)
John Shimkus (R-IL)
Rob Simmons (R-CT)
Greg Walden (R-OR)
Curt Weldon (R-PA)
Jerry Weller (R-IL).